Spider-Man’s Reveal

Now, I love Spidey. He's probably the first super-hero I ever got emotionally invested in when I was a kid (Flash was the first hero I ever grew to admire, but that's a post for another day) and I still follow his exploits as much as I can. This move, while seeming to be very forward-thinking and "bold" for Marvel, just reeks of problems to me. I'll try to explain what I'm trying to say, but this is something of a hot-button topic for me so forgive any ranting or rambling I may do.

First off, Spider-Man is NOT the everyman. Peter Parker is the everyman. By letting everyone in the world know that the two are one and the same, you basically remove the need for Peter Parker. As far as the comic cast is concerned, there is no Peter Parker anymore…hell, for most of the cast, never has been. He's Spider-Man and for all intents and purposes, that's all he'll be. By taking away such a vital part of the character, I personally think Marvel has done an injustice to the character and to the fans. I'm not saying this could not potentially be good…it's possible. I'm just saying I don't see this ending in any way that could be seen as positive.

Secondly, I get why this was done. JMS had been building to this moment since the start of New Avengers. It still is bad for the character. We all know that this will be reversed within (at most) a couple of years. The only way to do that is to pull out the old mind-wash, reality altering, or other such hackneyed plot device. It's like Marvel learned nothing from the abysmal Clone Saga.

Thirdly, and for now, finally, how many times have we heard that the main job of ongoing comics is to maintain one simple rule: There should only be an illusion of change, never any actual change. This isn't an illusion…this is an actual change. A BIG actual change, and it's always hard to back away from such a change. We've all seen how much difficulty Marvel is having with the last actual change (The Spider-Man marriage), so imagine how hard this will be to reverse? It's not like a couple of people know about this…the whole world saw it…LIVE…on tv. I dunno…I just can't get behind it.

I'm not one of those manics who's gonna drop all the books because of this. Nor am I gonna start up petitions for the removal of Quesada or anything. I'm just saying I wish that Marvel had tried something a bit more…restrained.

Anyway, I've already gone on about this a lot more than I wanted to. I probably won't be returning to this topic again for a while (atleast not till the aftermath issues of the comics start) so except something more along the lines of what will be usual fare for this here humble little blog.

Leave a Reply

