Fall 2006 Pilots Review – Part 1

Well, when I first started this blog, I wanted to reflect all the various aspects of my life. Unfortunatly, somewhere along the way it became a comic-extensive blog and then, well, life intruded. Still, from time to time I like to think I will return to the mission statement and this here’s one of those times. I recently managed to watch a couple of the upcoming fall pilots (you ought to know from where…) and I figured I’d share my thoughts on them. So, here’s part 1 of the hopefully 2 part review post I shall do on this topic.

Jericho

     I admit, I approached this show with a lot of bias against it. I didn’t really like the concept (seriously…one single town survives in the entire U.S. after a nuclear holocaust? Seriously?) and to be perfectly honest, the cast does nothing for me. Still, I got this for a friend so figured I’d watch it. Unfortunately it didn’t really inspire much hope. I still don’t like the cast, and the show is obviously riffing heavily on Lost, and not in a good way(like Heroes…) Plus, it was too…neat. I know the pilot is supposed to be reasonably self-contained, but this felt too pat. It seems ok for watching every once in a while, but I probably will not be following it. If anyone has any info which can make me change my mind, feel free to share it.

Heroes

This is more like it. I saw the edited 53 minute version so Greg Grunberg wasn’t in it, but the show has a solid concept and an awesome cast. I mean, I was sold at Ali Larter alone, but it also has Hayden Panettiere and Masi Oka (who I’ve always loved in Scrubs). So, I was inclined to like this show right off the bat, but I have to say, I didn’t expect to like it nearly this much. Incredible storyline, fantastic script, and I love the ominous undertones. Also, this is the first time I’ve ever liked Milo Ventimiglia in anything he has ever done, so kudos to the director for making me feel sorry for a character who I’m inclined to really dislike due to the actor playing him. The cinematography was also superb in this show, and the scenes showcasing the super powers were very well-handled. I am definitely in favour of this show for the long haul and can’t wait till it starts up in another month.

The Class

A lot of people don’t like this show. And I don’t really get why. It’s not exactly breaking any molds or anything I admit, but it’s eminently likeable, and has a nice premise so I’ll be giving it a shot. It’s kinda like Friends-lite so that should tell you all you need to know about whether you’ll enjoy it or not. I can’t really say anything else about it.

Our Thirties

The second sitcom I watched, and sadly I hated this. The actors seemed to have no chemistry, there doesn’t even appear to be an actual story apart from some kind of vagure examining of how the world we live in today is entirely different from the world that existed in the past and how taboos have been broken and so on and so forth. End result, I don’t like it. It’s not really funny, and it strikes me as superflous.

That’s it for now. Next time…soon hopefully…I’ll deal with Single’s Table, The Nine, Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, Amazing Screw-On Head, and Aquaman. Let’s hope they all make me feel nice about the upcoming tv.

Leave a Reply

