Fall 2006 Pilots Review – Part 2

As promised, here is part 2 of my now 3 part review of upcoming tv shows which I have managed to watch pilots of. This one will be pretty short as it’s only covering 2 shows. One is a sitcom, and one is an hour long drama, and quite frankly they were both excellent. Much better than the first crop in part 1 and I hope this trend continues for part 3. So, without anything cleverer to say…on with the show!

The Nine

I honestly did not expect to like this show. We already have one flashback extensive, character-oriented show in Lost, and that’s more than enough for me…but this had a solid cast so I was willing to give it a look through at least. I was blown away. This is by far the best first episode of any tv series I’ve ever seen. It had action, drama, great character building, and an awesome cliffhanger. Everything I could possibly want from a tv show is in this. I also adored the production quality of this show. It actually felt like I was watching a mini-movie versus a tv show, and that made all the difference in regards to my enjoyment of it. Superb show, can’t wait till the next ep.

The Single’s Table

This is apparently a mid-season sitcom scheduled to appear on NBC, and I have to say, it’s much better than The Class, which I reviewed last time. This is in the vein of Arrested Development to a certain extent as it has no laugh track, but it’s like Arrested Development mixed with Friends in that it focuses on a group of strangers who just happen to meet and form a bond that, hopefully, will prove interesting to watch. Still, fun show, and a new and interesting premise for a sitcom.

That’s it for today. I hope to return next time with the *final* reviews of Aquaman, and Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip. Let’s hope they provide interesting viewing.

Leave a Reply

