Runaways No More?

It’s official. Brian K. Vaughan and Adrian Alphona are leaving the Runaways with issue #24 of the second series. First of all, let me start off by saying, “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!”

Ahem…now that that’s out of the way…

I love Runaways. I’ve been reading it monthly since issue #3 of the first series and I have never, ever been as curious about the mysteries in any book as I have been with this one. I followed the Alex storyline from start to finish, looking for the clues, hoping it wasn’t Karolina or Molly (my two favorites). I read with worry when the first stories about the cancellation of the first series came in, and silently rejoiced when it’s relaunch was quickly announced. I even stuck with it in the lackluster begining of the second series and am still with it when it’s back on top. But what was keeping me there was the fact that BKV, and Alphona would be there. As far as I’m concerned, they are the team supreme, and I cannot imagine this book without them.

BKV especially has made these characters so unique, and so…real…that I honestly cannot think of any other writer who could handle these characters with the same level of skill and passion as he did. Alphona’s artwork was also a pleasant surprise. I loved how cartoony and expressive it was and still do. In fact, I wish them both the best for whatever future project(s) they may be planning. But I still wish Runaways didn’t have to be a casualty.

I’m not saying I won’t be reading this book anymore. Of course I will. I love Molly, Nico, Karolina and all the rest. I need my Runaways-fix! But it just won’t be the same.

Here’s hoping that the team due to be announced in a week is one I, and especially the reading population at large, will enjoy and will enable Runaways to have a long, and healthy future as a series.

Leave a Reply

