50 Ways ‘Civil War’ Will Change Marvel Forever – Pt. 1

…Right…I probably had the same reaction as you when I saw that headline. It’s directly lifted from an article by Wizard and I thought I’d go through each of the 50 and see how many are actually a result of Civil War, how many all conventional wisdom says will be reversed by year’s end, and how many are actually valid and will in fact change the marvel universe ‘forever.’

So, without further ado, let’s start with 1. IRON MAN WINS

Well…that certainly can’t be argued. Iron Man did in fact win. How exactly can this change the marvel universe forever? Well, I don’t know about forever, but for the forseeable future super-heroes in the MU will be heavily regulated. No more casual joyrides, no more simple vigilantism…basically it’s a police state. I’m betting it’ll reverse inside of 5 years, but maybe Wizard means the forever that lasts as long as most kid’s memory spans.

2. STEVE ROGERS: CAPTAIN AMERICA NO MORE

Uh…yeah. He’s dead. I’m sure he’ll be back within 2 years at most. Who wants to bet he won’t be Cap then? Yeah…not seeing the forever anywhere in that.

3. TONY STARK: DIRECTOR OF S.H.I.E.L.D.

This I think is potentially the change that could last the longest. Nick Fury hasn’t really ran S.H.I.E.L.D in ages and the man on the street isn’t really all that familiar with him anyway. This change could easily stick for a good long while before someone decides all the storylines possible have been milked from it. We’ll see how it does though…still need to read last week’s Iron Man: Director of S.H.I.E.L.D.

4. SPIDER-MAN’S WORLD SHATTERED

Admittedly this time was a major deal that will require a helluva lot of backtracking by Marvel at some point in the future, but c’mon…this happens once every year at least. It isn’t that big a deal. And it certainly isn’t forever.

5. NEW AVENGERS: OUTLAWS

Uh…yeah…that’s gonna last. I give it another 5 years. Sorry, but I don’t see the outlaw thing working beyond that point…if even that. We’ve seen the outlaw avengers team before…maybe not to this extent, but it’s popped up. I don’t see this direction moving beyond Bendis’ exclusive contract.

6. MIGHTY AVENGERS CONTINUE THE WAR

Ditto as above.

7. NORMAN OSBORN: MARVEL’S BIGGEST BASTARD

See…he became that when he replaced Aunt May with an actress who died during that process. Oh, and he slept with Spider-man’s girlfriend. And he killed Ben Reily. And he revealed spidey’s identity to I don’t know how many people…Running a team of super-villains that capture super-heroes just doesn’t seem that big a deal to me.

8. HULK RETURNS WITH A VENGEANCE

How the hell is this a result of Civil War??! They sent him up because he was a danger to humanity…not because of anything registration related. And he’s returning to get revenge…he has no fracking clue that a Civil War has even taken place. The only difference is that following Civil War, the results of his return will be slightly different. And that should be interesting…

9. FANTASTIC FOUR DISASSEMBLED

I can barely count the number of times this has happened. Just off the top of my head, Crystal, Sharon Venture, She-Hulk, the ‘new’ fantastic four…the list goes on. Sorry, but this isn’t even a change that’ll last 2 years…much less forever.

10. PUNISHER UPS HIS BODY COUNT

I will give Civil War one thing…it returned Punisher to the normal-MU. It was much-needed and it should be fun to see him obliterate loads of super-villains in War Journal.

11. ‘50 STATE INITIATIVE’ INITIATED

This is the change I actually hope will last. I like the thought of 50 super-hero teams out there. Each one unique…giving a different perspective to the entire MU. It could make for a very interesting spotlight series with each team getting its own arc or single issue. Can’t wait to see what Dan Slott does with this.

12. CAPTAIN MARVEL RETURNS

Just one word. Blah!

13. THOR: M.I.A.

Not a result of civil war!!! Clor showed up and died. Thor apparently got his hammer (in FF) but we’ve seen nothing of the guy since. I cry foul!!

14. NEGATIVE ZONE PRISON: OPEN FOR BUSINESS

This is actually a cool idea and one I hope lasts for some time. Should be especially interesting if there’s a breakout and the super-villains somehow manage to gain control of the negative zone. That could be the fifth or sixth annihilation crossover (I know, I know…I’m just giving them crap ideas…)

15. BLACK PANTHER AND STORM: POWER COUPLE

Ok…yeah. Civil War has brought these two into the limelight. Still not gonna be forever…but yeah…it is a major change in the status quo for these two. Seeing them in the FF should also be interesting…the new team dynamic with Ben and Johnny is something I’m looking forward to.

16. NAMOR’S SLEEPER CELLS

This was interesting. Apparently Namor has spies throughout the world. The potential stories in something like this is insane. I hope Marvel doesn’t drop the ball on this.

17. ILLUMINATI ELIMINATED

Well…considering we only found out about them through civil war…I don’t really give a fig. Let them die out.

18. THE X-MEN’S SIDE CHOSEN FOR THEM

Yeah…the 198 files registration thing was a gyp. But eh…the x-books are in a pretty good place right now and I’m glad they weren’t involved in Civil War. That could’ve derailed Brubaker and Carey’s efforts.

19. MARVEL BOY UNLEASHED

This was actually interesting. Marvel decided to make MB a part of regular continuity with his appearance in the Young Avengers/Runaways mini. And the ending with him taking control of the ‘Cube’ the alien experimentation lab could provide interesting storylines in the future. Especially if he meets up with Marvel…the captain kind.

20. GOLIATH: R.I.P.

Does anyone really care?

21. MEET THE NEW UNDERWORLD

Ah yes. This was actually pretty good. Too bad we don’t really have crime-on-the-street type stories anymore. Well, nowhere except for DD. And I don’t think we needed Civil War to set the underworld status quo for one book. Do you?

22. SPEEDBALL BECOMES PENANCE

Ugh…I don’t even want to comment on this. Spikey Pain=Power…

23. SPIDEY GOES BACK TO BLACK

Not to sound all cynical…but how many think this is more because of the movie rather than anything to do with Civil War? Yeah…I thought so.

24. HAWKEYE RESURRECTED

Um…I thought this happened in House of M. What the hell does Civil War have to do with it? Seriously…what?

And that ends part 1. Tomorrow I’ll run through numbers 25-50. C’mon…you know you want to see what could top the PERMANENT! change of hawekeye coming back to life.

One response to “50 Ways ‘Civil War’ Will Change Marvel Forever – Pt. 1

  1. Pingback: Civil War: The Aftermath « Tales of Quiet Desperation·

Leave a Reply

