50 Ways ‘Civil War’ Will Change Marvel Forever – Pt. 2

Before we continue with the remaining 25 ways that I’m sure will change the Marvel Universe forever (and were a part of Civil War to boot!) I thought I’d mention my first and probably only scheduled post for tomorrow. It’s the return of the Butt-Shots!! I swear I didn’t want to do this again…it’s more than a little disturbing to be looking through books and trying to find ass-shots in them but it’s been over 2 months since the last butt-shot post and it’s still the most popular post on the blog. I firmly believe in giving the people what they want so I’m preparing a new *maybe* weekly feature with the Butt-Shots. I figure I owe it to the loyal Butt-Shot followers.

Anyway, with that out of the way, let’s resume our look at the 50 Ways Civil War changed the marvel universe with:

25. WINTER SOLDIER: AGENT OF NICK FURY

This I kind of have to give them. The Winter Soldier has become a really important character in Captain America especially in light of the death. He was re-introduced to the MU before any Civil War plans surfaced but it was the Civil War situation which drove him to partner up with Nick Fury. And based on Captain America #25 and the Winter Soldier: Winter Kills special, this could be the partnership to watch. Definitely an interesting development.

26. NEW RONIN DEBUTS

Well…based purely on the most recent New Avengers issue, I guess this is a result of Civil War, but saying that it will change the MU forever is more than a little premature I think. The character itself hasn’t really caught on yet and it’ll be some time before we see exactly how much impact it’ll have on the MU once Bendis releases his stranglehold on it. So…50/50 right with their claims…that’s an improvement over some of the earlier entries.

27. MS. MARVEL EMERGES

Ehhh…they’ve been claiming this since House of M. I’m not too sure anyone’s buying it. The character is really cool and giving her a spot on Mighty Avengers is definitely a step-up…but I think a lot more work is required before she can truly be classified as an A-lister. And yeah…Civil War did make her Tony’s right-hand woman…so we’ll give ’em another 50/50 here.

28. DOCTOR STRANGE WIMPS OUT

I don’t see how this is changing the MU. As far as I’m concerned the Doc has done nothing but “wimp out” for years now. If anything came out of Civil War, it was him joining the avengers for the first time. Not sure how that came about though so I’m holding comments.

29. ANNIHILUS DEFEATED…WITHOUT HELP FROM EARTH

Now this is interesting. Nova was shown coming to Earth for help during Annihilation. And he left because of all the in-fighting. The cosmic landscape is much different now and Earth has no clue about it. I think the whole Civil War situation could potentially make Earth a target for future interstellar conquest. It would definitely be something I would explore if I had any say in such things…but who knows how Marvel will handle it. I am anticipating the Nova return that’s scheduled for the new series…should be interesting.

30. ARES: THE NEXT THOR? 

I think this has a lot more to do with House of M than Civil War personally. If Thor hadn’t died because of the Decimation process…there wouldn’t be a need for a ‘new’ Thor. Ares has been around forever…but without the death of Thor he would be nothing. I call foul on this one and say Civil War has nothing to do with this whatsoever.

31. THE ETERNALS RISE AGAIN

Well…with the shoehorned crossover into the Eternals mini…yeah I guess it can be attributed to Civil War. Stupid though. And it was a pretty disappointing mini too.

32. DAREDEVIL’S NAME CLEARED

God…how the hell does this have anything to with Civil War?!? The book was the only “major” marvel book to escape the crossover mania and they’re trying to shoehorn it into Civil War retroactively.

33. THE KINGPIN: BACK IN BUSINESS

Hmm..I would say this was a major change…since Kingpin is free and out of the country now. But it has already happened atleast once before (around Operation: Zero Tolerance when he was living in China). I’m betting it’ll be reversed as soon as some creator wants to use him as a foil for Spider-Man or Daredevil.

34. X-FACTOR: THE MOST HATED MUTANTS ALIVE

Ehhh…Again more because of House of M than Civil War. Don’t really need to say more on this. If you’re not reading the book, you should be though. Definitely one of the best…if not the best…book Marvel is publishing right now.

35. RUNAWAYS DON’T PLAY BALL

Uhh…not sure about this. I guess since the team is supposed to deal with Civil War in the upcoming Joss Whedon arc…I’ll wait till I read that before I decide. The Runaways/Young Avengers mini was nothing but a “red sky” crossover. It didn’t do anything for either property in my opinion.

36. NEW WARRIORS: POSTER CHILDREN FOR DESTRUCTION

Yeah…this is all Civil War. Don’t wanna spread the blame on this around. Should be interesting to see how the upcoming book deals with this though.

37. THE INHUMANS DECLARE WAR

House of M is back!! Seriously…half the items in this list can be attributed to House of M proving that that crossover actually changed a lot more stuff than people realized at the time. The war is a direct result of the US stealing the Terrigen crystals from the inhumans. This is from Son of M…wayyy back when.

38. USAGENT GOES TO CANADA

Ah…this is also all Civil War. I have high hopes for this book because Oeming has yet to disappoint. Also…I can’t wait to read how they deal with the fact that Canada has had super-hero registration for years!!

39. DOCTOR DOOM ESCAPES FROM HELL

Nothing from Civil War. This was in that “Road to Civil War” crossover that had nothing to do with the actual book. Cool thing though…Doom should always be around in the shadows…like Ultron…

40. SCARLET WITCH RESURFACES

I didn’t see this in Civil War personally. Anyone else?

41. SHARON CARTER: AGENT OF THE RED SKULL?

It is insulting to Ed Brubaker to say that this came about as a result of Civil War. Hes been building this sub-plot almost since the begining of his run on the book. Can’t wait to read where he goes with the revelations he gave at the end of Captain America #25.
42. POWER MAN AND IRON FIST: TOGETHER AGAIN

Yeah…Civil War here. It was nice seeing the two of them together in New Avengers. I heartily approve.

43. THE DEATH TOLL

Yeah…Marvel got rid of people no one cares about. Whoopee! All Hail Civil War as the Great Clearing House for D-list villains and super-heroes!!

44. MOON KNIGHT AND BLADE GO MAINSTREAM

I think concerted efforts have been made for a long time to make both these heroes more mainstream. I don’t think Blade is there even now. Moon Knight is enjoying a renaissance though…should be interesting to see where the book goes after Huston leaves.

45. SHE-HULK: AGENT OF S.H.I.E.L.D.

Forever my ass…this is lasting until Hulk returns and Jen realizes who sent him where. Should be fun. Have I mentioned how I am completely and totally looking forward to World War Hulk? Well…I am. Can’t wait.

46. GHOST RIDER: HAUNTED BY HELL

Eh…don’t read the book…no idea if this has anything to do with anything. Let me know people.


47. HEROES FOR HIRE: BACK IN BUSINESS

Dropped the book…but yeah the relaunch of the book can directly be attributed to Civil War.

48. NEW ANT-MAN POPS UP

Ah…been meaning to read this book. But yeah…this book also came about because the confusion caused by Civil War prevented Pym from finding out where his costume was.

49. BEN URICH QUITS

This is interesting…and depending on how long Marvel sticks with it…I would be interested in seeing how long they can maintain the whole ‘Frontline’ series as accompaniment to their various crossovers.

50. CABLE AND DEADPOOL SPLIT UP

Bah…this was caused by Cable moving up to an actual x-book. Civil War was just the excuse that a good writer like Fabian Nicieza used to make the rift believable.

And…that’s it. Finally we have reached the end. I think it’s pretty fair to say Marvel and Wizard are both full of hot air. The crossover did maybe 2-3 major things…and that’s it. 10 would be pushing the boundaries and 50 is just laughable. Anyway…I’m not tired…loonnng post…but I shall return tomorrow with the long awaited (I hope) Comic Butt-shots #3!!

Leave a Reply

