Beck – Mongolian Chop Squad Dub

I’ve been hearing a lot about Beck for a while now. Many people reccommended it to me as a great ‘coming-of-age’ anime and a fantastic examination of the importance of music for a young adolescent. I, being the lazy bastard I am, couldn’t be bothered with it all that much because it was only available subbed. And quite frankly…I don’t do subs very well. I like to focus on the artwork and the expressions used by the animators when I’m watching anime and unfortunately when I’m reading the subs I can miss out on some admittedly minor details and that bothers me.

Anyway, MUCH music, the Canadian equivalent of MTV has started airing the Funimation dubbed version. I tend to avoid the Funimation dubs since they are supposedly notorious for making several edits, but I’m watching Beck for the music so I figured, what the hell…no harm in giving it a shot. Boy, am I glad I did. While the anime isn’t exactly what I would call “The Anime to Change All Anime” or something similar…it is still pretty damned good and of the two episodes I’ve seen, I really enjoyed the direction the series appeared to be heading towards.

The story is essentially about Koyuki, a 14-year old who isn’t really into that much music. He’s a good kid who wants to help everyone out, but is unfortunately limited by his shyness and his inability to express himself. I think the path of the story with him slowly evolving into a rock star would probably be the most interesting thread, but an equally interesting bit is the formation of the love-square that seems to be developing.

I don’t want to give too much away because this show should really be seen to be appreciated. Suffice it to say, if you like punk/grunge music and are a fan of anime, this series is definitely for you. Do not miss out.

Leave a Reply

