Catch and Release – A Hating

Damn…this was a REALLy bad movie. I mean, based on the fact that I had no idea this was even released, I kind of figured that it wasn’t going to be the best thing I saw this month or anything, but this movie was really, really, really dumbfounding. I don’t really want to spoil anything because the whole damned thing is so predictable that you can tell the end within the first 10 minutes so I’ll try to explain (in VERY broad strokes) why this movie is as bad as it is.

First off, Jennifer Garner is incredibly wooden in this (yeah, yeah…I’m sure some of you are thinking…”so, what’s new?” but I tend to like her acting!) It’s like she’s sleepwalking through the part and her heart just doesn’t seem to be in it. Secondly, Timothy Olyphant sucks…I just don’t like the guy. He’s pretty much a one-note actor who has been playing the well-meaning asshole in so many movies that I’m sure they all tend to blur together for him as well as for us. And let’s not even get started on Juliette Lewis who plays the stereotypical Trailer Trash woman. To the movie’s credit though, Sam Jaeger and Kevin Smith shine. Smith especially works incredibly well in the “best friend” role and it was…strange? pleasant? weird? seeing him not swearing like a sailor for once.

Now, the script…ugh. It’s a pretty typical tale of dead man’s fiancee finding out that he may not have been as perfect as she thought he was. Oh, and of course…her ‘rediscovering’ love in the process. I was hesitant to watch this movie based on the premise alone, but being a huge Alias fan, I figured…what the hell…Jennifer Garner should keep me amused. She didn’t. She was boring, crying more than she did in Alias season 4, and overall making me cringe whenever she related to any other actor in the movie.

Now, the story was dumb, but the direction was unbelievable. We are supposed to buy that Garner’s character does not realize that Dennis is head over heels in love with her. I mean, c’mon! I could tell that in the first scene between the two. Hell…if this movie had tread a slightly more conventional territory, it could have been more amusing and I would’ve had that warm fuzzy feeling you get from decent romantic comedies…instead this movie left me feeling vaguely unsatisfied and quite cranky. Also, the stupid…really stupid…thing with Smith’s character and the second leading lady…ugh. That right there made me want to grab the dvd and throw it out and stomp on it. Fortunately, I was too lazy to get up and do that…but I’m planning on sending the movie to the nether-depths of DVD-organisation soon enough.

As I was saying, Jaeger is awesome as Dennis…you really buy into his character. Same with Smith. Both of them feel like real best friends and have great chemistry onscreen. They were the only thing that kept me watching the movie (well…partially watching…I stopped paying fulling attention to the dreck halfway through I think).

Ugh…even this post has left me with a bad taste in my mouth. Horrible Movie. Avoid at all costs! Get Music and Lyrics instead…not great, but very, very amusing.

Leave a Reply

