ABC Upfronts 2007

Today we do the ABC Upfronts!! (Yay!!)

Anyway, the ABC upfronts are one I was kind of looking forward purely because I wanted to know if Pushing Daisies got picked up (It did!) since I’m a big ol’ fan of resurrections and this show will probably have more per episode than Buffy did in her whole series.

Anyway, sticking to the format already established, let’s start things off with the shows that have been cancelled: The Nine sadly had great promise…I think one of the best pilots of last year (which goes to show that pilots aren’t everything) but it fell flat and failed to deliver on its promise so quickly that it was dead in the water by episode 9 I think. I also don’t think it helped that it had Tim Daly, the leading king of failed shows as a lead (I love the guy, but let’s face it…no show he has headlined in the past 3 years has actually survived…watch out Private Practice!) Six Degrees has also been cancelled. Another show that had excellent promise but for one reason or another just couldn’t live up to it. Sadly, the show was actually becoming very good around episode 6 when it got the axe and I’m kind of sorry that we’ll never get see the complete story. The Great American Dream Vote, Show Me The Money, Day Break, In Case of Emergency, The Knights of Prosperity, What About Brian, George Lopez, According to Jim are also all cancelled but I wasn’t watching any of ’em so damned if I know if they’re a loss. I have heard a lot of people are disappointed about What About Brian but unless I happen to decide to watch it, I’m not gonna decry something I’ve never even seen.

Moving on, the returning shows are: Grey’s Anatomy, this is the show that I’m about to give up on, but am sticking with purely out of loyalty. The Gizzie fiasco, the over-bloated cast and the horrible, horrible way they keep dragging Meredith through the mud just doesn’t work for me anymore and if the season finale fails to deliver I may very well be saying goodbye to Seattle Grace. Ugly Betty is the show I have  given up on. It’s just too much of the same-old, same-old now and I don’t really have any type of loyalty to this…so I shall not be watching season 2. Season 1 was ok though, for what that’s worth. October Road is another show I’m giving up on. Season 1 was barely watchable and the only reason I stuck by it was because it was only 6 episodes. I’m not about to repeat that mistake just for Laura Prepon (who look stunning in this). Men in Trees and Brothers and Sisters are shows that I enjoy, but I haven’t grown to love yet. Will be watching the last few eps I have saved up of both (something like the entire last half of B&S actually) to decide if I’m gonna stick around for season 2 of both. Lost is thank God back and I shall be watching it without fear for the remaining 3 seasons. Can’t wait. Also surviving are Notes from the Underbelly, Wife Swap, Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, Desperate Housewives, The Bachelor, Dancing with the Stars, Supernanny, America’s Funniest Home Videos, Boston Legal, Jimmy Kimmel Live!, and 20/20 but as always, don’t watch ’em, don’t know anything about ’em.

Finally, the new shows: Big Shots, from what I can tell this is like a male Sex and the City…uh no Thank You. I couldn’t stand the original source, I’m sure as hell not gonna bother with the version with dicks instead of tits (sorry to be crass).  Carpoolers, sounds like a bad Blondie strip. I doubt I’ll be checking this out…have enough sitcoms to watch and don’t really need another one for the list. Cashmere Mafia, I’ll definitely be checking this one out. It has Lucy Liu in it and it kind of sounds like a network version of Sex and the City (hell…this even has Darren Star in it…actually never mind…I will not be watching this after all) Eli Stone, eh…will give this a shot because it’s Greg Berlanti and has a pretty decent cast. Of course, it’s a mid-season replacement so we may never ever see it…but let’s be positive, eh? Dirty Sexy Money, a lawyer for the filthy rich…sounds vaguely interesting so gets a pilot viewing at least. Plus, Peter Krause is a good actor and deserves a hit… Cavemen, God no. Miss/Guided, maybe…the Ashton Kutcher label turns me off though. Private Practice, nope. Didn’t like the stupid pilot and don’t care to watch old people having sex (sad, but true) Pushing Daisies, I’m supremely interested in, but I don’t see it lasting. Sounds like a watered down version of Dead Like Me, Wonderfalls and Joan of Arcadia. Although the whole concept of a guy bringing people back to life…awesome! Sam I Am, definitely watching this one. The whole changing someone’s personality because they realize they person they used to be was awful sounds like My Name is Earl somewhat and has Jennifer Esposito in it. Woohoo! Women’s Murder Club, nope. Don’t really like procedurals and doesn’t really have a cast I care about. Oprah’s Big Give…uh yeah…not happening.

Tomorrow we do CBS (and I weep in the corner if Babylon Fields is not picked up) Be here to witness the spectacle! 

Leave a Reply

